Men's Cross Country

Kendell Sets Course Record, Titans Place Second At Running Fit-Detroit Mercy Titans Invitational, 32nd Annual

NORTHVILLE, Mich. (9/8/18) -- The weather was perfect for a personal record, and that is exactly what University of Detroit Mercy men's cross country redshirt senior Ben Kendell supplied when he broke the course record at the Running Fit-Detroit Mercy Titans Invitational, 32nd Annual on Saturday afternoon at Cass Benton Park in Northville. 

His time of 19:39 earned him first place in the race and the record books, beating the former record of 19:45 set by Chad Johnson in 2000.

Following closely behind Kendell was junior James McCann who claimed third place and set a new personal record in the race with a mark of 20:26, beating his old personal record by nearly a minute.

Sophomore Thomas Mueller crossed the line third for the Titans, setting a new personal record with a mark of 21:21, followed by junior Adam Fraeyman who also set a new personal record when he crossed the line at the 21:28 mark.

In their collegiate debuts, freshmen Ryan Schwab and Mich Greeley finished in 21:42 and 22:15, respectively.

Junior Scott Smith crossed the finish line in 22:27 and Dash Dobar was the next Titan to cross the line at the 23:50 mark.

The red white and blue were also represented by sophomore Brendan McClanahan who finished in 23:57 and junior Santana Scott who crossed the line at 24:04.

The Titans finished in second place with 65 points, trailing only Bucknell, who turned in a sparkling performance with 38 points. Albion College, Eastern Michigan and Oakland rounded out the top five.

Here is how the action went down at the 30th Annual Running Fit-Titan Invite:
  • Titan redshirt senior Ben Kendell won the collegiate race in 19:39.
  • Kendell became the first ever competitor to win the race three years in a row.
  • James McCann, Thomas MuellerAdam Fraeyman and Dash Dobar set personal records.
  • McCann ran 21:12 on the course last year, improving his time by 48 seconds.
  • The meet originated as a women's only race in 1987 with the men's race beginning in 1998. 
  • The Titans claimed second place for the second year in a row
Follow #DetroitsCollegeTeam:  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  YouTube

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned